Resume Gap

I’ve got a job interview.

This is a secret, so don’t tell anyone.

Some people keep job interviews secret because they don’t want their current employer to know they’re actively looking. If they get the job, they’ll let people know, but until then…shhh!

If I get the job, I’ll let people know, but I’ve got no current employer to keep in the dark. I’ve not had an employer since 2008.

2008. Holy cow, has it been that long?

Yes, in fact, it has. Because I have apparently entered the “rapid passage of time” phase of adulthood when one blinks and it’s been seven years one last received a W2.

By most measures, the hours for this job suck. Two evenings, all day Saturday, and a half-day Sunday every week. But for my schedule, it actually works out pretty well.

I don’t need the money, which is good because the pay is pretty piddling. If the job were in San Francisco, it wouldn’t even pay minimum wage. (The job is not in San Francisco.)

Why do I want this sucky-paying, sucky-hours job anyway? Do I want it because the job is otherwise awesome, or do I want it because that seven-year gap is weighing on me? Or do I want it because I’m annoyed that my last remaining pair of business-appropriate trousers has been hanging idle in the closet for the better part of a decade?

I’ll let you know once I know if I’ve got the job or not. Until then, let’s keep it on the Q.T., okay?

Leave a Reply

